top of page

Importance of Chaturmaas

The journey to Mewar, as desired by Thakurjee, began in 1669 AD, on Asadh Sud Punam on Friday, during the last 3 hours of the night. ShreeNathji with all His sevaks arrived in Sinhad (Nathdwara) in 1672 AD, on Falgun Vad Satam on Saturday.

Since He began travel from Giriraj to Nathdwara, ShreeNathji spent three Chaturmaas on the way.

The first Chaturmaas was spent at Krishnpuri in Gwalior, near Aasan river.

The second Chaturmaas was in Krishn Vilas, Padm Shila at Kota. (He halted here for four months).

The third Chaturmaas was spent in Chapaseni at Jodhpur. He also celebrated an Annakut here. Halt here was roughly for five months.

The fourth Chaturmaas ShreeNathji was at His mandir in Mevar.

For 2 years, 4 months and 7 days that ShreeNathji travelled from Vraj to Mewar, He spent living in His Rath.

The places blessed by Him along the way were, Hindmultan, Dandauti ghat, Bundi, Kota, Dhundhar, Marwad, Baanswaro, Dungarpur, Shahpura.

Neel Gai on Girirajji

Monsoon magic

🙏 Jai ShreeNathji

Jai Girirajji Govardhan

Chaturmaas is a sacred period of four months - Shravan, Bhadrapad, Ashwin and Kartik - in the Hindu calendar.

It starts with Dev Shayani Ekadashi (Ashadhi Ekadashi)

and culminates with Prabodhani Ekadashi.

The Shravan month also falls within the auspicious Chaturmas.

It is the time for bhakti, and various spiritual practices. However, auspicious ceremonies like marriage and other celebrations are not considered ideal during these months.

These four months mark Shree Vishnu Bhagwan in divine sleep which ends on Prabodhini Ekadashi also known as Dev Uthani Ekadashi.

It is believed that Hindu Devi-Devtaa are also at rest during this period and should not be disturbed.

The Sadhus and Sanyasis observe Chaturmas for four fortnights. This starts on full moon day of the month of Ashadh, also known as Guru Purnima or Vyas Purnima, and ends on full moon day of the month of Bhadrapada. Sanyasis are supposed to halt during this period at one selected place, and give discourses to the public.

Major Celebrations within this sacred period include: Guru Purnima; Shree Krishn Janmashtmi; Raksha Bandhan; Ganesh Chaturthi, Radha Ashtmi, Navratri, Dussehra, Durga Puja, Dhanteras, Diwali.

Jai Ho

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page